Maria Inês Costa was born in Oporto in 1994. Following her graduation at the Royal College of Music, she has recently concluded her Master Studies in Piano Performance at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, where she is now pursuing her Artist Diploma studies with Charles Owen, Martin Roscoe and Ronan O’Hora as a scholar. She is also generously supported by Talent Unlimited, the Countess of Munster Musical Trust and Help Musicians UK.

Inês started her musical studies in Centro de Cultura Musical under the tutelage of Eduardo Rocha and Ana Isabel Silva, and in 2006 she entered the class of Cristina Lima. In 2008, 2009 and 2011 she won 1st prize in CCM Competition, and in 2012 she won both the Merit prize of the Ministry of Education and the Dra. Manuela Carvalho prize. She also received a one-year award for the 2014-15 academic year at the Royal College of Music and several awards and scholarships whilst at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, and recently was a finalist at the Yamaha Scholarship Competition and prize winner at the Verão Clássico Masterclasses in Lisbon and at the 2017 Musical Odyssey Summer Masterclasses.

She has performed in many venues including Oporto's Coliseu, Salão Nobre do Centro de Cultura e Congressos da Ordem dos Médicos, Clube Literário and Ateneu Comercial, Castelo Branco’s Conservatory Hall, Fafe’s Musical Academy, Póvoa de Varzim’s Town Hall, Coimbra’s Quinta das Lágrimas, Aveiro's University Great Hall, Braga’s Salão Nobre da Universidade do Minho, Santa Maria da Feira’s Great Hall, Óbidos’ Auditório da Casa da Música, Loures’ Pavilhão Paz e Amizade, Caldas da Rainha’s Centro Cultural e de Congressos, Estoril’s Portuguese Music Museum, Lisbon’s Centro Cultural de Belém and Terreiro do Paço and London’s Steinway Hall, Royal Albert Hall’s Elgar Room, Academy of St Martin in the Fields, Milton Court Concert Hall, Amaryllis Fleming Concert Hall, St James’s Church Piccadilly, St. Mary Abbots Church, St. Stephens Church, St. Wilfrids Centre, Morden College, St. George’s Hanover Square, Regent Hall, Charlton House, City Literary Institute, The Music Room (as part of the Bloomsbury Festival), Cambridge University (Robinson College) and Nafplio’s Vouleftikon, Saint Spyridon’s Square  and Thessaloniki’s Concert Hall (Greece).


Recent performances include a tour in Portugal with Lisbon’s Metropolitana Orchestra playing Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 21, the Schumann Piano Concerto with the ARTAVE Orchestra, the Grieg Piano Concerto with the Beiras' Philarmonic Orchestra, and a duo recital at the University of Cambridge. Having studied Conducting with Peter Stark, Natalia Luis-Bassa and Tim Redmond, and thanks to her interest in this area, Inês received an invitation for last Summer's EUYO (European Union Youth Orchestra) Tour, playing both Piano and Celesta in Shostakovich's Symphony no. 5 at the Berlin Konzerthaus and in Wiesbaden (later broadcasted for the German radio station Deutschlandfunk). She was invited back for the 2016 Summer Tour, playing Celesta in Philip Glass's Double Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra. She has worked with many renowned pianists such as Artur Pizarro, Boris Berman, Paul Badura-Skoda, Jonathan Biss, Constantin Sandu, Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro, Eldar Nebolsin, Jorge Moyano, António Rosado, José Alexandre Reis, Joel Bello Soares, Jimmy Lim, Constantin Ionescu-Vovu, Luís Pipa, Manuela Gouveia, Bin Wang, Yekaterina Lebedeva and Svetozar Ivanov.

Besides this, she also had chamber music coaching with Petia Samardjieva, Nigel Clayton, John Blakely, Peter Schumayer, Carole Presland, Matthew Jones, Donald Weilerstein, David Waterman, Mark Gothoni and Pascal Moraguès, and studied harpsichord with Mafalda Nejmeddine and Robert Woolley, fortepiano with Geoffrey Govier, percussion with Francisco Soares and violin with José Ricardo Reis. Inês has already worked with various orchestras and conductors such as Pedro Amaral, Ernst Schelle, Martin André, David Hill, Jac van Steen, Peter Stark, Xian Zhang, Vasily Petrenko, Luís Machado, Emílio de César, Hugo Ribeiro, Francisco Ribeiro, José Borges, Jaroslav Mikus, Kevin Wauldron, Paulo Silva, Joam Trillo and Eduardo Rocha.